Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature.  This award is awarded by the Young Adult Library Services Association (a division of the American Library Association).

2011 Winner:  Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

2011 Honor Books

Stolen by Lucy Christopher
Please Ignore Vera Dietz  by A.S. King
Revolver written by Marcus Sedgwick
Nothing written by Janne Teller

2010 Winner:  Going Bovine by Libba Bray

2010 Honor Books

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
Punkzilla by Adam Rapp
Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes by Deborah Heiligman

2009 Winner:  Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

2009 Honor Books

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Vol. 2: The Kingdom on the Waves by M. T. Anderson
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
Nation by Terry Pratchett
Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan

2008 Winner:  The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean

2008 Honor Books

Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet by Elizabeth Knox
One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Clarke
Repossessed by A.M. Jenkins
Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill

2007 Winner:  American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

2007 Honor Books

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox Party by M.T. Anderson
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
Surrende, by Sonya Hartnett
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

2006 Winner:  Looking for Alaska by John Green

2006 Honor Books

Black Juice  by Margo Lanagan
I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth, a Photographic Biography  by Elizabeth Partridge
A Wreath for Emmett Till by Marilyn Nelson

2005 Winner:  how i live now by Meg Rosoff

2005 Honor Books

Airborn by Kenneth Oppel
Chanda’s Secrets by Allan Stratton
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt

2004 Winner:  The First Part Last by Angela Johnson

2004 Honor Books

A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly
Keesha’s House by Helen Frost
Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler

2003 Winner:  Postcards from No Man’s Land by Aidan Chambers

2003 Honor Books

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr
Hole in My Life by Jack Gantos

2002 Winner:  Step from Heaven by An Na

2002 Honor Books

The Ropemaker by Peter Dickinson
Heart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century American Art by Jan Greenberg Abrams
Freewill by Chris Lynch
True Believer by Virginia Euwer Wolff

2001 Winner:  Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond

2001 Honor Books

Many Stones by Carolyn Coman
The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci
Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging: Confessions of Georgia Nicolson by Louise Rennison
Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman

2000 Winner:  Monster by Walter Dean Myers

2000 Honor Books

Skellig by David Almond
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s