Teen: If You Like Cirque Du Freak…

or want other reads with horror, grit, violence, or gory action

The Cirque Du Freak Series by Darren Shan

Book one is Cirque du Freak. Two boys who are best friends visit an illegal freak show, where an encounter with a vampire and a deadly spider forces them to make life-changing choices.

The Demonata by Darren Shan

Book one is Lord Loss. Presumably the only witness to the horrific and bloody murder of his entire family, a teenage boy must outwit not only the mental health professionals determined to cure his delusion, but also the demonic forces only he can see.

The Gone Series by Michael Grant

Book one is Gone. In a small town on the coast of California, everyone over the age of fourteen suddenly disappears, setting up a battle between the remaining town residents and the students from a local private school, as well as those who have *The Power* and are able to perform supernatural feats and those who do not.

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

In 1888, twelve-year-old Will Henry chronicles his apprenticeship with Dr. Warthrop, a scientist who hunts and studies real-life monsters, as they discover and attempt to destroy a pod of Anthropophagi.

The Beasties by William Sleator

When fifteen-year-old Doug and his younger sister Colette move with their parents to a forested wilderness area, they encounter some weird creatures whose lives are endangered.

Vampires by Justin Somper

Book one is Demons of the Ocean. When twins Connor and Grace’s ship is wrecked in a storm and Connor is rescued by pirates, he believes that Grace has been taken aboard the mythical Vampirate’s ship, and he is determined to find her.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Nobody Owens is a normal boy, except that he has been raised by ghosts and other denizens of the graveyard.


Last Apprentice Series by Joseph Delaney

Book one is Revenge of the Witch. Young Tom, the seventh son of a seventh son, starts work as an apprentice for the village spook, whose job is to protect ordinary folk from “ghouls, boggarts, and all manner of wicked beasties.”


The Gatekeepers by Anthony Horowitz

Book one is Raven’s Gate. Sent to live in a foster home in a remote Yorkshire village, Matt, a troubled fourteen-year-old English boy, uncovers an evil plot involving witchcraft and the site of an ancient stone circle.

Full Tilt by Neal Shusterman

When sixteen-year-old Blake goes to a mysterious, by-invitation-only carnival he somehow knows that it could save his comatose brother, but soon leanrs that much more is at stake if he fails to meet the challenge presented there by the beautiful Cassandra.

Other authors to check out: Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, Scott Westerfeld, R.L. Stine, Lois Duncan.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s